Share With Me Your Favorite Verse & Why is it so meaningful to you?

I have many favorite verses,

which makes  it is hard to choose.

However, one of my favorites

is Psalm 34:18 – 19 (NLT):

~Photo Courtesy of Google Images~

The Lord is close to the broken- hearted, He rescues those whose spirits are crushed.

The righteous person faces many troubles (afflictions NKJV), but the Lord comes to the rescue each time.  

This verse became real to me while dealing with some painful times.  God was pruning and it was painful.  Yet I can look back now and see all the new growth that has come from letting go of bad attitudes, unfulfilled dreams and many mistakes I don’t care to count.   What I thought I wanted so badly or needed now does not have a strangle hold on my life.  All I need is Him . . . more and more of Him.  I clung to this verse when everything else felt like it was spinning out of control.  

The Lord held me close when all I could do was cry.  He gave me this picture one day, and I still go there some times when I am hurting.  It is a picture of  Jesus sitting in a bench swing in a beautiful English garden waiting for me to come spend time with him.  Then I come as a little child,  crawl up in His lap and He just holds me close as He strokes my hair and calms my anxious soul.  He wipes away my tears.  He is waiting for you.  Have you spent time with Him today?  It is so beautiful there, go see Him.  He loves visits with all of His children daily!

I can’t wait to read about your favorite verses!


6 Comments

Filed under Discuss with me . . ., Spiritual Growth

6 responses to “Share With Me Your Favorite Verse & Why is it so meaningful to you?

  1. Beautiful Joyce,
    Thank you for the invitation to come and share my favorite verse 🙂

    My LIFE VERSE is from Galatians 5:25 “If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.”

    I call myself a Spiritwalker because of this beautiful and powerful verse. I believe that we can forget who’s power we walk in. I believe that far too often we allow our minds to be limited because we walk within our own power and strength which pales in comparison to that of The Holy Spirit. We forget who we are in Christ and leave Him out of the details of our lives. We must remember that our God is the Great Mountain Mover, The Great IAM, and begin walking into the Impossible so that He can make it Possible! We should live fuller, awakened lives…

    So much of the time, so many of us walk around as though we are sleepwalkers instead of Spiritwalkers… I chose the greater way.
    I think about the AGELESSNESS of the Spirit, who is with God, knows all, sees all, and actually lives and dwells within each of us! This is amazing, we should not fear Him, but embrace His wisdom, power and love. He can forgive through us when we ourselves are unable, the list is endless, the power is effortless, the grace unending…

    I could write a book on the phenomenal gift we have been given, yet take for granted or do not embrace… I pray that you become a Spiritwalker too!

    Spiritwalking with you,
    Kathryn Bonner
    http://www.WomenOf PassionatePurpose.com

    • Thanks so much for sharing Kathryn! I love your comment. I have a friend that I have been counseling for months as she works through a painful past. She has a hard time grasping the full power of the Holy Spirit. She has lived in the bondage of fear for so long that it is hard for her to see.

      O, but I know one day soon her blind eyes will see. God has worked some amazing things out in her life, and I know He is not done! He has great plans for her, and I persistently take her to the cross! He wants to use her & she knows it. Yet it scares her to death. I told her “He will give you what you need at the time you need it!”

      I love this quote! May I add it to my quote page?
      “So much of the time, so many of us walk around as though we are sleepwalkers instead of Spiritwalkers…”

      Thanks again for encouraging word on the power of the Spirit!

  2. Two of my favorite verses are Romans 12:1-2 in the NLT, “And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with yo to give your bodies to God. Let them a living and holy sacrifice–the kind he will accept. When you think of what he has done for you, is this too much to ask? Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will know what God wants you to do, and you will know how good and pleasing and perfect his will really is.”

    These verses have been at the core of my restoration, and have shown me that all of my “hard work” at behavior modification accomplishe nothing–I just fell, jumped or was pushed back into my pit. It was only after I studied these verses that God showed me that true life reformation, true abundant life (zoe)comes only after we change the way we think. I still struggle, but God has healed and restored so much by my replacing the lies of the enemy with the Truth of His Word.

    Thanks for the opportunity to share.
    In pursuit of zoe,
    Judi
    shetribe.blogspot.com

    • Thanks Judi for sharing. It is a journey to retrain your brain with the truth of God’s word. The more you know God’s truth you see how man lies you have been believing for years!!!!

      Fill me in. . . what does zoe mean? Life or the abundant life?

  3. dan

    psalms 34 has a place in my heart too…”I had a personal shipwreck in 1984 up in Alaska…
    That morning before I left for work… I was frustrated with being a Christian…
    my life was horrible it was nothing like the name it and claim it faith of the day…
    it was the exact opposite… my family was in ruins and I was working, but broke…
    after reading and praying every single chance since 1977 I had given up…
    I couldn’t bear it any more couldn’t be strong or faithful bla bla bla…
    so I cursed God and threw my bible in the garbage can…
    saying as I walked out the door for work… I was “never” gonna read His word again
    and was never gonna pray again “ever”…
    Long story… short, I was knocked overboard off a barge that day…
    fully dressed in boots, arctic coveralls pants, long johns coat and gloves…
    I sunk like a stone went down so deep my ears almost burst…
    I started praying God save me…
    I heard a voice say…”so your not gonna pray no more your not gonna read My word no more?”
    I couldn’t repent fast enough, all I could do is say I’m sorry I didn’t mean it…
    please help me…
    When I finally reached the surface, I knew I was screwed…
    The water was freezing and I couldn’t get my boots off.
    I was so tired of treading water… but it was sink or swim…
    God help me I prayed with every stroke…
    When I finally made it to the side of the barge there was nothing to hang onto…
    so I floated down it’s side and then I saw the tug boat churning powerfully against the current…
    I realized I was gonna get ground up inside it’s propellers …
    I was ready to die a horrible death worse than drowning…
    all of a sudden my glove caught a little bur of metal that was sticking out
    on the wall of the barge…
    it was the cotton of my glove that got snagged and held…
    I was totally at the end of my strength exhausted and frozen…
    but ooooh so grateful… it took six men to pull me up to the deck of the barge.
    I just collapsed there.
    When I got home, I dug my bible out of the trash can and asked God to show me something…
    I opened up to Psalms 34… in the old living bible…
    and read… the Lord is near to all who’s hearts are breaking…
    He rescues those who are sorry for their sins… the good man has his troubles…
    but the Lord saves him… He even protects him from calamity and accidents…
    I have been sailing with Him ever since.”

    • Dan,
      As I read you story this morning, all I could say was Wow! It still stuns me what great lengths our God will go to save one of His children – Spiritually and Physically!

      Thank You for sharing your amazing story. I know it has not been smooth sailing since that day. However, if like me there is most likely a quiet assurance that not matter what life throws at you, God will be there through it all. We can truly depend on Him.

      Thanks again!
      May God continue to richly bless you with an intimate relationship with Him!

Leave a Reply

